12
Dec
08

Update

I managed to meet with a representative from the Baha’i World Centre in Haifa Israel, we discussed my research and I got some great suggestions for the project.

My research title is pretty much set now: To what extent can the ‘blogs’ of sympathisers and representatives of the Baha’i Faith be seen as interactive channels of communication that report on the persecution of the Baha’is in Iran?

Also I’m going to be using a multi method approach with some online surveys to supplement my main documentary research approach, which will look at the online blog content that I will sort through and analyse (all experimental by the way, blame the academics for not enough literature).

Check out this book it critics the production of  ‘Amateur’ Internet culture brought about by the influx of new media, and interestingly argues the impact of blogs is largely negative:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cult-Amateur-MySpace-YouTube-user-generated/dp/1857885201/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1229096127&sr=8-1

Naturally I disagree in the case of blog posts reporting on the persecution of the Baha’is, as I believe the blog medium is opening up compelling channels of communication to new audiences.

3 Responses to “Update”


  1. December 12, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Hello,

    I came across your blog by chance, while keeping on the lookout for any new content on the persecution of Baha’is.

    I haven’t read the Cult of the Amatuer just yet, but I’ve been following Andrew’s blog and reading his articles for a several weeks, and while I can somehow understand where he’s coming from, I don’t think his criticism applies within the context of the Middle East (or other regions that lack freedom of expression).

    Anyway, I wish you the best of luck in your research!

  2. December 12, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Make sure to keep us posted! This is very exciting research! Pioneering online…

    Looking forward to seeing more.

  3. December 15, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Kawthar thank you so much for the comment, yes indeed I think the Middle East is an interesting exception, continue your great work also.


Leave a Reply

